This Blog is protected by

Senate confirms nomination of the immediate past service chiefs as ambassadors

The Senate, on Tuesday, February 23, confirmed former Chief of Army Staff, Tukur Buratai; former Chief of Defence Staff, Gabriel Olonisakin; former Chief of Air Staff, Ibok Ibas; and former Chief of Naval Staff, Abubakar Sadique as non-career ambassadors. 

President Buhari had on the February 5, sent their names to the senate to be confirmed as non-career ambassadors. Nigerians had condemned their nomination, noting that it was a plan to shield them from prosecution by the International Criminal Court (ICC) for alleged abuses committed by the Nigerian military under their watch.

Loveth Ogedegbe: Tuesday, 23 February 2021 at 2/23/2021 11:23:00 pm


Search This Blog